godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

If A Train Travels North At Fifty Miles An Hour…

Leave a comment


I did some water skiing once. Got up on two skis jumped around a little, went from side to side and made rooster tails, it was fun for a while – then it got boring. I never did fall down. I think if you fall down and break something it makes it more interesting but I wouldn’t suggest it might make it more fun. I like stories about hardship, the time after the great war, hiding from the space aliens, that sort of thing, but it really bugs me if the neighbors make noise while I’m sitting in the backyard trying to read. I like to drive on the freeway on holidays. That’s about as life and death as a thing can get. It keeps my interest. It may be the most focused I ever get. Watching cars ten cars ahead. Feeling the mood of the pack I’m in. Concerning packs; people do seem to drive in packs and in the pack they are always passing and changing lanes – how is that even possible? On a five hundred mile trip we get passed by at least eight groups of cars and pass maybe two. I try to travel at no more than six to eight miles an hour above the speed limit. How fast does a car need to go to pass a car doing seventy-eight miles as hour and make that car look like it is standing still? They don’t explain everything in math class!

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

