godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

Flight 408 (part 3)

Leave a comment


We walk through the cleaning rays before we change into our street clothes so our uniforms will be ready for our next flight, the pressing will take place as soon as we close them into our lockers with or without our request, the company wants all of its pilots to be in well pressed uniforms.

“I’m going to pick-up some groceries,” I let Sally know as I slip into one of the small, local transporters. Sally enters an adjoining transporter, waves and disappears. In the store I grab a cart and the store’s floor ribbon moves me through aisles while I tap things I want. When I get to the produce section I put a head of lettuce and a couple of apples into the cart. I never tap produce into my order. I walk into one of the store’s transporters and get the notification my bank account has paid for the groceries and at the same time get a second notification that my groceries, not counting two apples and a head of lettuce, have arrived on the proper shelves in my kitchen. I’ve been putting off grocery shopping for a week and my kitchen was about to become one big empty. It feels good to get that taken care of. I feel a big load of stress just slip off as I enter my apartment. It’s good to be home after three days in space. The screen that covers the north wall of my one bedroom home turns on when I sit on the sofa and the sofa comes to life creating a comfortable place for me to relax into.  The scenes on the wall are peaceful views of nature while the daily news is delivered in a gentle voice that sounds like a loving God comforting his children. And then I get the notification I know is coming but I’ve been dreading. The wall screen is taken over by my personal trainer.

“Randy, you have missed your last two exercise sessions! Please activate the level two program!” I don’t want to but they will break into every program I watch until I do.

“Program two!” I say into the room and at once I can feel twinges and jumps as various rays are applied to my body making my muscles respond in various ways.

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

