godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

Flight 408

Leave a comment


It has been a long flight and we’re all tired. My co-pilot is sound asleep in the supersized, high-backed, overstuffed, more comfortable than a bed, captain’s chair they put in these birds now a days. It’s all I can do to stay awake until it’s time for my break, watching her sleep just makes it harder to keep my eyes open. The ship is on full automatic; if the automatic pilot were to fail I doubt that I would have any idea as to what could be done. Turn off the computer and do a reset? But I know what I get paid for and stay awake doing it. What I get paid for happens to be, primarily, to stay awake.

“Flight 408 you are in Earth navigation space and your controls have been transferred to our systems,” a tired voice says into my headset.

I recognize the voice of a friend, “Sounds like a good thing, Toby. Mind if I start my nap now?”

“You go right on ahead Randy, I’m liable to join you any second now.”

“Had a late night Tob?

“Came straight from play to work. I’m thinking that might not have been such a good idea.”

“My life is a constant string of bad ideas. Good to hear someone’s in the same boat.” I slip off my headset and push my seat into full recline position. I’m snoring before we find our place in the holding pattern.

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

