godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

Jimmy, Super Kid (part forty-four)

Leave a comment


Ricky found some old scuba gear in his garage. We tried to get it to work but the hoses are old and leak a lot of air. We ended up taking the tank of air to the pool. We let the tank fall to the bottom of the pool. We would dive down to the tank and try to get “drinks” of air but we just about popped our lungs, too much air would come out all at once. So, instead, now we are diving down to the bottom of the pool, filling our shorts with air and shooting back up to the top of the water, it’s not as easy as it sounds!

I hold myself straight up and down so that when I reach the surface I bob out past my waist. “So what yah want to do now?” I ask Ricky for the third time, he’s just sitting on one the pool’s concrete steps half in the water half out.

“I don’t know, what you want to do? He answers for the third time. I head back down to the air bottle, it seems to have less air pressure than it did but it has enough to shoot me to the top one more time. I dive back down to get the empty scuba tank, when Ricky sees what I’m doing he dives in and gives me a hand.

“So your dad is a diver?” I ask as we put all the gages and hoses back where we found them.

“I’ve never seen it,” Ricky answers, “could be my mom’s I guess. Or maybe they just bought this stuff in a yard sale.”

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

