godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

Jimmy, Super Kid (part twenty-five)

Leave a comment


“So,” I want to ask Ricky several questions but I’m not sure if he will appreciate them right now, “what does your father do for a living?”

Ricky looks up from the sand and gives me a puzzled look.

“I’m just trying to understand why someone would kidnap him,” I answer quietly.

“He does research,” Ricky goes silent and goes back to staring at the sand his eyes a little shining a little more than usual. He blinks a few times to keep anything from running down his cheeks.

“What does he research?” I know I’m pushing it but I want to have something to go on.

“I ask him, he says he’s a researcher. He puts on a suit and tie every weekday morning and he’s gone for about nine hours. That’s all I know.” Ricky answers without ever looking up from watching his toes dig into the cold sand.

“Maybe your mom will know,” I say, just thinking out loud.

“I doubt it. His own son doesn’t even know what he does!” Ricky says like he’s mad at himself for not knowing more.

“Hey it’s not your fault!” It bothers me that my best friend is blaming himself for what has happened. “Maybe it’s all top secret and he can’t tell you.”

Ricky looks up, rubs the water out of his eyes, “you think he was captured to get some information out of him?” Now Ricky looks more worried than sad.

“I’m sure he’s okay, but we need to figure out what’s going on,” Ricky really looks messed up I’m afraid my questions haven’t helped much. “Lets just wait till my dad gets here, maybe the police have already found him. How hard could it be to spot a car hauler with a picture of a race car on the back?”

Ricky just nods and goes back to looking at his toes.   I’ve got a lot to think about anyway, like why did they even bother with taking the car? How did they know he would be at the car show? How long would it take to put together a plan like this, with a car hauler and all? With all those people around why didn’t any one notice? Did Ricky’s dad just walk into the truck? The more I think about it the less sense it makes.

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

