godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

Jimmy, Super Kid (part nine)

Leave a comment


“But mom!” if I could only make her understand the world needs my presence.

“No, but mom, it’s your room and you are going to clean it! You think I’ll clean it for you but you’re wrong,” she stares without blinking, a pancake spatula in one hand held like a weapon.

“Just let me take care of a couple of things…”

“That’s what you said yesterday and not a single sock found its way into the hamper, young man,” it’s not good when she calls me young man. It sounds respectful and all but that’s not how she means it.

I start to think I’ve lost this battle and then inspiration! “Amy wants me to go with her to the library,” Amy, my little sister, always wants to go to the library, so I speak truth even though I haven’t spoken to Amy in days.

“You’re going to take your sister to the library?” my mother asks. I see weakness in her eyes.

“Yes, mother,” I answer as sweetly as I know how.

“As soon as you’re back I want that room clean,” she holds onto the words but the force is gone, she knows she’s lost the battle. I find Amy in the backyard and within the hour she is safely seated in the children’s section of our local library. I’m free to roam two floors of books, magazines, newspapers and computers without any fear of going home to a dirty room, my mother just doesn’t have that kind of will power. I can almost hear her cleaning my room from here!

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

