godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

Morning

Leave a comment


The day began like any day begins, the world spun until the edge of the closest star lit the edges of the mountains and then when, as the full ball of flame became visible, the sky turned from dark to light blue.

“Sun’s up! Get out of that bed! Work to be done while the sun shines!”

Shut-up!” I thought. “I’m up,” I said. I pulled on the pants lying on the floor next to the bed, smoothed out the tee shirt I had slept in and padded in bare feet in the direction of the bathroom.

“Hurry up in there, I’ve got to get!” I pushed the toothbrush into my mouth to keep it from speaking. I was starting to feel a little bit better. A person should have at least ten minutes before making words is necessary, twenty minutes with the second ten spent sipping coffee would be even better. What kind of world would it be if everyone got twenty minutes of their own every morning?   I finished up in the room of special facilities and avoided human contact until I had the Mr. Coffee performing its function.

“We haven’t got time for that!”

“There is always time for this,” I replied quietly and poured the black life into one of my three favorite mugs. The first sip tells all. The first sip tells if the measure of coffee to water to heat is right. If the first sip is right the day will go well. I took a sip – a fair day, not perfect but I’d be able to deal with it.

“What if we got there fifteen minutes late?” It was the wrong thing to say but the coffee wasn’t perfect either.

“Bring that with you, we’re leaving.” I had to follow. There’s only the one car. Drinking coffee in a car is a perversion.

 

 

 

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

