godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

The Wall (Revisited)

Leave a comment


A wall of solid, gray concrete stands before me.   Every sixteen inches in every direction darker gray three quarter inch dots in the concrete form a grid. Every twelve feet a three inch wide one and one half inch deep V has been formed into the concrete both vertically and horizontally.   Sixteen twelve foot squares filled with 68 evenly space slightly darker dots reach from the weed covered ground to blue sky. Roll upon roll of twelve-foot wide columns of concrete squares form the wall. I have been told the wall is twelve feet thick but I have only seen the side in front of me.   From my tower, a hundred and fifty feet from the wall and one hundred feet above the ground I can see another gray cement block tower, a duplicate of my own, two miles in the distance to the North and another tower stands two miles to the South. On clear mornings I can see towers beyond those, every two miles and just like mine: a one hundred foot tall, fifteen by fifteen foot rectangle, constructed without external steps and the only windows just a few feet from the top. The windows face North, East and South the builders had no interest in the West.   The windows turn dark brown in the bright sunlight, keeping the watchers cool and unseen. I scan slowly from right to left and from left to right. Straight ahead I see the center of the one hundred ninety two foot high mass of concrete. Looking up I see the top edge. Looking down the taller weeds that grow at the base of the wall, taller because the wall catches the rain. As I have been instructed to do most of my gaze follows the one hundred and twenty foot patch of cleared forest at the base of the wall. “Carefully scan the ground to the North, in front of your tower and to the South, a quick, occasional, glance along the top edge of the wall is all that is required. Keep your gaze moving at all times, stop to focus on a single item only when something feels out of the ordinary.” I have never heard of anyone or anything coming over, or under, the wall from the other side. I have heard of a few people trying to leave our side. I have no idea why. The Wall protects us from what is on the other side.

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

