godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

A Place to Write

Leave a comment


I like to write stories about sitting in Star Bucks. I’m sitting in Star Bucks. I only paid $2.15 to sit here. I may sit here for hours, so it just seems right to give them a plug now and then. Very quiet in here today, just a few people, mother with her baby (toddler, cute kid), a couple of people staring at “pads”. I don’t have a “pad”.   I have a “book”. A college kid doing his homework, he doesn’t look very happy about it. Someone at the register just said “actually” the answer was, “I totally get it”. I wish I had heard the question; bet there’s a story there. I’m sitting next to a runner. He comes in every morning after his run. He doesn’t smell. I think he used to be a professor at the college. I know him from somewhere. Once a month twenty or so runners meet here after their run. Some of them smell. They talk loud and brag about how far they ran. The guy sitting next to me doesn’t do that, he just reads. I talked to a homeless lady here once. She had a big army green duffel bag and many layers of colorful clothes. We talked for a while about “life on the road” which I know nothing about but a guy in one of my books spent a year on the road – so I can draw from him. She looked pretty basic; she really did live on the road. She didn’t smell. I don’t really understand how a person could live on the road and not smell – maybe I was upwind. Before she left she showed me her website on her I Pad Air. She sold head bands she made on the road. The site took Visa and PayPal. I didn’t make a purchase. There are different kinds of homelessness. A cute girl is in the line for a coffee. <Insert pause> People are in too much of a hurry now a days. They should take the time to sit and drink their coffee. It’s just not safe to drink and drive.   Back when I had regular employment I had drinking and driving down to an art form, just coffee, Styrofoam cups. When first learning a section of the plastic lid can be torn away to make it easier to drink and to keep the coffee from splashing; after a person gains some experience an open cup, without a lid at all, is better. A few more people show up, tea drinkers. One of the tea drinkers works for PG&E (at least she has the hat). The trash window just appeared. I hope it’s not a sign. I have the space bar setting on my “book” set too sensitively; sometimes my thumb drags across it and does things. So…this is a bust. If I knew where ideas came from I would go there. It’s a nice sunny day. I’m going to home and nail some pine boards together.

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

