godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

So, Don’t Do That!

Leave a comment


“So don’t do that he says. What kind answer is that?” I’m seriously disturbed by this and all she does is give me the you’re being silly grin. “Okay miss, I do everything right, what would you have done?”

“Well, first, it was a joke. It’s the punch line of a very old joke,” she looks at me and tilts her head like a dog waiting for clarification but some how I feel like the dog. “You know he was joking, right?”

I know he was joking that’s want bugged me the most. I was looking for some real cause and he’s just kidding around.   She’s still looking at me like I’m her disobedient pet so I answer, “What’s the big joke? I tell him it hurts when I do this and he says so don’t do that? How is that funny?” I let the edge of my mouth twitch just slightly. I’m sure she knows I’m just messing with her now but I’ll keep a straight face until I’m sure.

“Silly,” she goes back to her word puzzle. She saw the twitch.

“So you think I should go back?” I give in and ask the question I should have asked first.

“No. Stupid joke equals stupid doctor. Find someone else,” she doesn’t look up from her puzzle but the edge of her mouth twitches. Sometimes she’s just too easy to get along with.

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

