godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

The Letter of The Law

Leave a comment


Citizensarest“Why?” I asked not really thinking the answer could change things. “You must have a reason,” even though I knew he was an unreasonable man. An unreasonable man given all the power he would ever need. “You sir are the reason we have laws,” he answered without coming near my question. He continued to write on his pad preferring not to notice the blood heating my cheeks or my unblinking stare. He handed me the slip of paper he had written on so diligently and started to turn and walk away. “Wait!” I shouted, wondering what my next words would be. He made a big deal of stopping, turning, and returning to where I was seated,             “What?” He said with full confidence in his actions. And then my redemption showed itself, “You misspelled my last name,” he had, and not in a nice way. It must have been a subconsciously misplaced letter but I had him. He looked at the slip of thin, yellow, paper and now blood turned his face a shade of red, “I”, he stumbled looking for words and then arrived at the only solution he could be sure of, “Look, give it back, I’ll tear it and the carbon up.” He looked defeated but only because he was. I handed him the paper, holding it by one corner, like it was covered with slime. He tore the copy out of his tablet and ripped the two matching slips of paper into small bits of confetti, which fell to the ground. I let him see my satisfaction.   He walked, humbled, back to his car, his back tires lost traction and yelled as he reached highway speed, which is what mine had done but for some reason it was all right for him. I remembered a television show, Gomer Pile running across a street shouting, “Citizen’s arrest! Citizen’s arrest!” but I could never catch him and that was probably for the best. -david blankenship-

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

