godwithoutassumption

A place for thought.

Teri Garr

Leave a comment


Teri Garr

“What ya typing?” she asks.
“I’m typing every word you say,” I answer receiving a puzzled stare. I explain,” in the late sixties Teri Garr played a part in the original Star Trek series. She spoke to a computer and said something like: It’s typing, it’s typing everything I say,” I said looking into her eyes hoping to see some sign of activity.

“So, what ya typing?” she asks with a bit of compassion in her smile.
“I got nothing,” I respond, closing the lid of my Mac Book and giving her my undivided attention. “How you doing?” I say trying to sound like Joey on the Friends television show.
“Just came in for some caffeine. This your hot spot now?” She set down in the chair next to mine and pulled the plastic top off her cardboard cup.
“I’m not sure about hot spot but I seem to end up here two or three times a week.” I lean back in my chair and take a sip of coffee from my off white ceramic mug, being very careful not to drip on my green John’s Bay tee shirt.
“So who’s this Teri Garr?” she asks.
“I’ve been in love with Teri Garr my whole life. She played Phoebe’s mother on Friends once. She did such a good job I still believe she’s Phoebe’s mother.”

“Never heard of her,” she said.
“Kind of a blond Zooey Deschanel,” I said, not really sure why but it seemed right somehow.
She took a thoughtful sip of her caffeinated drink and said, “Zooey’s fun, and I love to say Deschanel.”
“I love to say Teri Garr,” I said. “Teri Garr.” I said again. “It makes be feel happy, Teri Garr.”
“Well I’m glad you’re happy. I’m gonna go now. Things to do.” She got up from the chair and waited for my response.
“Are you happy?” I asked looking up at her.
She paused a moment and said, “Yes, I’m happy. Bye,” she said as she turned to leave.
“Bye,” I said as she walked away.

Author: assumptionisfaith

david blankenship is the author of three books "Randolph W. Owens, missing on Bright Island" (a science fiction novel), "Herb" (a children's book), "Jack's second Life" (contemporary fiction) and several short stories. The books are for sale on Amazon's Kindle and published in paperback by Create Space.

Leave a Reply

